We must remain vigilant in the APS

For years, our members in the Australian Public Service have been under increased pressure to deliver while staffing numbers have been cut, funding has been slashed and the voices of experts have been ignored.
Before we went to the polls, the Coalition promised to cut $1.5 billion. This would further compound the issues we face in the sector. After Saturday, this is likely to become a reality.

Josh Frydenberg has since then asked department heads to make the call on where these cuts will come from. Now more than ever, we must remain persistent to remind the Government that we cannot undermine the technical ability of the APS.

We would like to remind you that despite the result, Professionals Australia will continue to work for your benefit. We also acknowledge the uncertainty about your career after the election result but encourage you to remain steadfast.

Your commitment to the APS has seen you come together and campaign in workplaces ranging from Defence, CASA, Air Services and the Deep Space Communications Complex, to address the ongoing issues around real pay rises and concerns with staffing, outsourcing and contracting. For the next three years, we expect these issues to continue, however you can expect Professionals Australia to remain diligent.

Saturday’s result, though unfortunate, has only served to strengthen our resolve. The Coalition has signalled they’ll take a ‘business as usual’ approach to the APS and so will we. Last week, your delegates, committee members and organisers met to discuss, plan and form a new strategy for the next six months and beyond.

Over the next few weeks, we will set out a plan to launch and execute this strategy, and will meet with you in your workplaces to commence it.

In the interim, if you have any concerns or issues you’d like raised get in touch with an organiser in your state.

ACT: Dale Beasley – dbeasley@professionalsaustralia.org.au
NSW: Adrian Catt – acatt@professionalsaustralia.org.au
QLD: Tom Whibley – twhibley@professionalsaustralia.org.au
SA: Kimberley Rowney – krowney@professionalsaustralia.org.au
VIC: Wes Hayes – whayes@professionalsaustralia.org.au
WA: Tamarah Rowlands – trowlands@professionalsaustralia.org.au

If any workplace issues arise, contact our Workplace Advice and Support Team on 1300 273 762 or lodge your issue in My Workplace.